Monday, May 18, 2015

Ricochet

Posted by A Drop of Romeo at 2:00 PM
For Gemma, the hardest part about traveling across southern Africa looking for an infamous criminal wasn't the constant danger, the long days, or even working undercover. It was pretending not to have feelings for her partner, who was not only endearingly complicated and frustrating, but also her new pretend husband. 
Banner Credit: Ali

Melissa Thinks: Unsurprisingly, Carmel March has bestowed upon us another addicting story.
Gemma and Boone are back and better than ever in this sequel to Vertigo. Just as action-packed as it's prequel, Ricochet promises to be a well-developed look into the lives of two CIA agents as they take on their next mission in South Africa. Chapter one starts only a handful of days after the events of Vertigo with the winsome couple once again having to pretend to be married in order to complete their undercover operation. Despite the fact that Vertigo ended with them finally getting together, Gemma and Boone have yet to talk about exactly what happened that night and their feelings for one another. So, once again, we find ourselves waiting patiently for the two to realize they're meant to be together.

I can't say I'm surprised that this story was suggested the second it was posted, because Carmel March is one of the greatest authors on Fictionpress currently. The reason she's so amazing, you may be wondering, is because her stories include everything anyone could ever want: deeply developed characters, thrilling action/adventure, idyllic romance, and earnest dialogue. It's also important to mention that this story is intense in nature; its constructed with long chapters (that I devour so quickly, I have to reread them later to savor the experience) packed with excitement and sexual tension.

Carmel states in an author's note that while Vertigo was about the build up of Gemma and Boone's relationship, Ricochet is the development and strengthening of it. Within the first few chapters we get a strong sense of the story's tone and pacing, which lends to the author's intended focus on her character's relationship.

Recommended for fans of On the Run and Close Protection.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 

A Drop of Romeo Template by Ipietoon Blogger Template | Gift Idea